We recently have done a couple little projects to upgrade our country kitchen.  Our kitchen was already a good size, complete a breakfast eating area, and the appliances were all fairly new.  There were a couple things about our kitchen that were really holding us back...but for around $100.00 we have really improved the look of our kitchen.  When we bought the house the kitchen had carpet...barf...so of course we tore that out right away.  The carpet went up the side of the cabinets so when we tore it off it just left a gross black board between the bottom of the cabinet to the floor.
So I went up to Lowes and bought some "cove base" then came home and stained it.  That was where my job ended and Brady's began.  He measured it, cut it, and tacked it up.  I'm sure no one else looks under our cabinets...but I do...and now I can look at them and smile!
Then it was the stove area that needed some TLC.  I don't have a "before" picture for this one (I got too excited and forgot to take one). But just try to envision this disgustingness...dirty stove pans (the ones that go under the burner on an electric stove), and a MUSTAND YELLOW range hood...ick, ick ICK...it looked like baby poop!  So I went out to Bed Bath and Beyond...coupons in hand, and bought new electric burner pans...trying to clean these things is impossible, and they are so cheap that it's not even worth it to try cleaning them.  I also picked up a can of white appliance spray paint from Lowes.  We took off the range hood, cleaned it up, and then I went to town with the paint!  Brady put everything back together and it looks amazing!  This was such a huge improvement and it cost less than $20.00!
The last thing we improved was the kitchen sink area.  We had a mustard yellow sink (to match the baby poop range hood of course) and a really old ugly faucet.  Doing dishes already sucks...and when you are doing them in an ugly sink it just makes the chore that much worse!
We had an extra white sink laying around...one of the great benefits of buying a house, barn, and an art studio...we found all sorts of treasures!  And I bought a Moen faucet and kitchen curtain from Lowes.  My handyman hubby installed the new sink and faucet and did all the plumbing by himself.  I hung the curtain and we love the final product! 
Even with our sexy new kitchen sink I still don't like doing dishes...oh well!

Sam




Leave a Reply.