Does anyone else feel sad this time of year?  I am a complete lover of the holiday season...the food, family, friends, time off work, and happiness all around.  So when Christmas passes and the new year begins I always find myself feeling kind of...blah.  Don't worry...I am not depressed or anything, just singing the "blues" a bit.  So this year I have been really concentrating on trying to enjoy the time of year.

Winter does offer a lot more than Christmas and New Years.  There is the Superbowl, Valentine's Day, and best of all my birthday!  Looking forward to these dates keeps things exciting because I never have to wait more than a month for any one of them. 

I also just try to stay really busy...which isn't hard because right now is "sales season" for me so I am starting to get really busy with work.  Things around the house of course are also constantly keeping us busy...we just finished remodeling the master bathroom this week. 

Another thing that really helps me to stay cheery is always looking forward to the next fun thing going on.  If nothing really fun is going on, then I will take it upon myself to plan something.  Like this weekend I am having a "girls weekend" with my favorite girlfriends from college and in a few weeks Brady and I are traveling to sunny Florida to visit my Grandma.

I am really looking forward to Florida because I am just craving that sun!  Even with all my "happy boosters" this time of year, nothing can replace the complete the wonderfulness of summer sun, balmy air, long walks with the pups, windows down, sunglasses, shorts, and being a tan black woman.  July please get here fast!

How do you beat the winter blues?

Sam




Leave a Reply.