On Wednesday I had the pleasure of caddying in the pro-am at the BMW championship.  This is the day before the real tournament happens Thursday - Sunday.  It is a practice round where amateur golfers pay big bucks to swing their sticks with the big boys.  This one
round of golf costs each armature $8,500.  Yes that's right...$8,500 for one round of golf…AHH! Every foursome had three amatuers and one pro. 

The pro in our group was 30 year old Bill Haas.  You old folks who read my blog might remember his dad, also a pro golfer, Jay Haas.  In 2011 Bill won 11.4 million dollars in just one day playing golf, by winning the FedEx Cup with an exciting up and down from the water.  He was a super nice guy.  Like me, he also got married about a year ago and him and his wife don’t have any kids…he talked to me a ton, asking me if I was a golfer, what my husband did for a living, where I went to college, what did I study, etc.  It was so neat because he was such a “normal” guy.  He just has every other guys dream job...playing golf for a living.  Oh, and best part…he is a Christian…graduated from Wake Forest with his degree in Religious Studies.  

On and around the golf course on Wednesday I got to see Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, D. A. Points, Rory McIlroy, Steve Stricker, and others.  

Oh ya…the reason I got to do all this.  I graduated from U of I two years ago with no college debt whatsoever all because of being a caddy and receiving the Chick Evans Scholarship.  The Evans Scholarship is the largest privately funded scholarship in the country, sending over 800 caddies to college every year, paying for every dime of tution and housing.  Not a bad gig right?

My family and I were so blessed when I received the Evans Scholarship and the blessings continue to flow today.  I mean, what an awesome opportunity to caddy at a major PGA event like the BMW championship?!

After 2 days my new buddy is 9 under, tied for 9th place.
GO BILL!

Sam

Aunt Krista
9/7/2012 05:03:44 am

Awesome Sam. What a great opportunity. And yes, I do remember Jay Haas, guess I'm one of those old folks.

Reply



Leave a Reply.