This is our first Christmas as a married couple...and let me tell you it has been busy!  With the Peters all living in Indiana and the Werners all living in Illinois, Brady and I do a lot of traveling during the holidays.  We spent Thanksgiving here in Indiana so we are going to spend Christmas in Illinois with my family...I can not wait!  I am so excited to see everyone, I love Christmas at "home" because of watching Christmas Vacation, drinking memosas at Grandma and Poppy's Christmas morning, snuggling with Lucky, seeing all my extended family, waking up on Christmas morning in the house I grew up in, and watching the Bears beat on the Packers!  

I am a huge fan of all the wonderful things that come along with Christmas in America.  Some of my favorite things are all the Christmas traditions, eating Frango mints (yum), eating peppermint ice cream (double yum), drinking Southern Comfort egg nog (triple yum), hearing the fire crackle in the fireplace, hanging the stockings, decorating the Christmas tree, seeing people's kind heards and generosity, listening to Christmas music, and just feeling LOVE everywhere. 

Brady and I decided last year that we were going to get a real tree...we bought it in the Rural King parking lot and we love it!  I don't ever want to get a fake tree, I love stringing the lights, I love how the tree isn't perfect, I love how every year we can get a different type of tree (this year we got a white pine), and I love the way it smells!  Below is a picture of us standing by our tree after we picked it out in the lot =)  Isn't it pretty?
And here it is after we got it home and all decorated! 
And here is Gus taking a long winters nap by the tree =)
Merry Christmas everyone!  Remember Jesus...the reason for the season! 

When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy. And going into the house they saw the child with Mary his mother, and they fell down and worshiped him. - Matthew 2:10-11

Sam




Leave a Reply.