On October 31, 2011 I must have been drunk or something because I made the commitment to start a workout program that many of you have probably heard of…Insanity.  I spent quality time with Shaun T every day for the next two months.  It was hard but it was definitely worth it.  On January 1st I finished the two month program and have never felt more in shape.  I actually weigh pretty much the same as I did when I started the program but I feel awesome.  I just feel a sense of accomplishment that I finished the entire Insanity workout program.  This means working out six a week, some days up to an hour and a half, and I didn’t miss one day, one workout, or one dreaded “power jump”…okay maybe I missed just a couple of those.  

Insanity is a program based on the idea of “max interval training” which means that instead of short bursts of high intensity cardio followed by a longer period of rest or low intensity cardio, it is long bursts of maximum-intensity exercises with short periods of rest.  The workouts were a mix of strength and cardio exercises and they always included lots of jumping. 

The best part of Insanity was that after the two months were over, even though I was exhausted and sore...I was craving more!  Don't ask why...I must be crazy or something.  Knowing that I was a bigger fan of the cardio than the strength I felt like the all popular P90X wasn't the answer for me.  But I wanted to step it up with an intense at home cardio system.  Well that is when I found TURBOFIRE!

I am so freaking excited!  I start this workout tomorrow and I honestly wish today wasn't my day off so that I could just do it right now.  What attracted me to TurboFire is the intense cardio, fast moves, great music, and the fact that I looks more like a cheerleading routine than a workout.  Random sidenote...one thing I hated about Insanity was that it wasn't "real" music but rather Nintendo like beeps in the backround the whole time, and at first it wasn't so bad but after two months of that every single day I wanted to kick Shaun T in the face. 

TurboFire was made by a girl, Chalene Johnson, so its gotta be better right?  One crazy thing about this program is that it is twenty weeks long...yep you heard me right...TWENTY WEEKS...aka FIVE MONTHS...working out six days a week.  The driving force behind the results given by TurboFire is an idea called HIIT (high intensity interval training)...this is supposed to produce the "afterburn effect" that leaves you burning calories for hours after the workout is over.  If I am not a supermodel on May 28, 2012 then I want my money back! 

So today I am saying goodbye to Shaun T and Insanity, and hello to Chalene Johnson and TurboFire!  Please pray for me and wish me luck that I don't die.  If you want to see a YouTube video about Insanity or TurboFire then just click on the pictures below.  Shaun T for Insanity and Chalene for TurboFire...obviously!
One more thing...as I sat here and wrote this blog I ate leftover bisquits and gravy for a SNACK!  That should explain two things...why I didn't lost any weight with Insanity and why I NEED to workout!

Sam




Leave a Reply.