Let me take you into my little corner of the world today.  It is leap day, February 29...it only happens once every 4 years, and it got me thinking this morning...where will Brady and I be the next time our calendar tells us that February is a day longer than normal?  The bright yellow office I am sitting in right now might just be a nursery?  It might have a little crib in it instead of a large executive desk?  I might look out this same window and see a swimming pool in our back yard?  (please please please Brady I hope you are reading this...I love you).  Instead of sitting at my computer typing in information about my crop insurance customers I might be sitting in a rocking chair nursing our baby as Gus keeps a watchful eye?  Maybe I will be helping out on the farm getting ready for the busy upcoming planting season?  Or I might be wondering as I am this year..."What is Brady planning for my birthday in a few weeks?"  My parents who currently live in Illinois might even be retired by then and hopefully will live here on the farm in Indiana?  It is fun to dream on this day.

I sit here on February 29, 2012 and it feels like a day of complete freedom.  It just so happens that my "day off" of working out is every Wednesday, and our Bible in a year plan doesn't include reading for February 29...so I am off the hook for that also!  I am spending this day working from our home, hopefully I can squeeze in a walk with the pups.  Tonight I am having dinner with one of my best friends, and I am also waiting on a phone call from home telling me that my Aunt Candy and Uncle Mike had their baby boy.  Little interjection about that right now - My mom's little brother is Uncle Mike...him and Aunt Candy are 42 years old and have been married for 15 years...they are pregnant with their first baby and she is due today!  Being married 15 years, pregnant with your first baby, and being due on February 29...crazy right?!  Please remember them in your prayers! 

It is unusually warm for a February day...61 degrees.  The heat is off and I have the window in my office open.  I can hear birds chirping in the apple orchard in our back yard...telling us that spring is near.  A season of sunshine and new life is arriving.  This leap day has really made me count my blessings...I may not have the biggest or fanciest house,  my body isn't perfect, my marriage isn't perfect...but my God is perfect and He makes everything new.  Our farm house isn't the biggest or fanciest...but it is our little home that is always filled with love and laughter.  My body isn't perfect, but my husband thinks it is, and our marriage isn't perfect but we strive every day to make it the best we can...by honoring each other and honoring our Lord. 

I hope you can also count your blessings and dream big dreams on this leap day!

Sam




Leave a Reply.