A couple days ago I finished reading "Real Marriage : The Truth About Sex, Friendship, & Life Together" by Mark and Grace Driscoll.  I am a big Mark Driscoll "fan" so I might have been reading this book through rose colored glasses.  Mark Driscoll is pastor and founder of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, Brady and I listen to his sermons via podcast regularly.  His sermons are a breath of fresh air because they push you and make you feel uncomfortable instead of just preaching "Jesus loves you" all the time.  Pastor Mark is theological and everything he says lines up with scripture.  I really enjoyed this book, and I feel like it could be life changing for many couples who would be willing to read it with an open mind.

The book is split into 3 parts...Marriage, Sex, and The Last Day

Part 1 : Marriage
    This section of the book mostly focused on being best friends with your spouse...an idea that I just love!  And it is so true...if you are going to spend the rest of your life with someone...might as well be your best friend right?  The other night as we were going to sleep Brady said, "You know the best thing about being married?  It's like having a slumber party every night with your best friend."  That just made me feel all fuzzy inside because it is so true =)

Part 2 : Sex
    This is pretty self-explanatory - it just talked about sex in the context of marriage.  Certain things in this part of the book have caused some controversy both in and out of the church.  I really don't see what the big deal is...everything goes back to scripture so there really isn't anything to be so prude about.  Topics such as anal sex, oral sex, and birth control are talked about and how these things fit or don't fit into a Godly marriage.  I am a super open person and nothing in this book shocked me but I guess some people have been offended.  Like oh my gosh wives actually give their husbands blow jobs?!  Those sluts!!...haha sarcasm.

Part 3 : The Last Day 
    This part of the book just looks at marriage from a totally unconventional perspective.  It looks at marriage from the last day instead of the first.  There is so much hype about the first day of marriage...the wedding day...but what about the last day?  Will your marriage end in a courtroom in an ugly divorce battle or will it end with you by your spouse/best friend's side holding their hand as they leave this world to spend eternity with the Lord?  The decision is ours and this part of the book gives practical ideas to lead your marriage towards the second scenario.

I really enjoyed this book and I can't wait to go through it a second time as more of a study than just a book.  Brady and I are starting a young married small group at our church and I was reading this from a leader perspective trying to figure out if it was something that could be studied in a small group context or not?  I think YES!

Brady and I have really enjoyed listening to the "Real Marriage" sermon series that Mars Hill is doing right now...to check it out just click here.

Next time I will write about everything I learned in January as we strive towards having a Christ-centered marriage and I struggle to become a Godly wife =)

Sam




Leave a Reply.